Wasted Time

I know you’re watching me
But you can’t really see
Whats underneath my smiling eyes

It’s not that I’m feeling disgust
Or that I hurt that much
But something just isn’t right

You see me shaking hands
Trying to understand
But inside I’m on fire

And not the kind of fire
Made of dreams and desire
But the kind that keeps you scared

Scared of everything
What evil will it bring
And how they lurk everywhere

We like what you said
We like what you’ve read
But lately I’m not impressed

I’ve been looking close
And seeing that at most
You’re just a poser at best

Oh no you can’t see everything
How my heart sings
And there’s more I can confess

I just don’t want to reveal
All the hope I conceal
Because I want it intact

If I stand and say
You’ll love me someday
Then you’ll probably turn your back

So I hide my dreams
You don’t care what they mean
And keep my nose to the grind

And likely you’ll see
You’re just like me
With a pocketful of wasted time

Poem by Ryan Hughes 


Leave a comment