Born Too Late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until I break the bank
Open up every wound and wake up in the tank
Wondering what happened to me
Always trying to compensate
All they ever told me was
Man, you were born too late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until I find the keys
Break open every window and turn over everything
Drive away screaming
Confused and irate
Lately I’ve been thinking
Must’ve been born too late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until I burn the cross
Turn the flag upside down
Forget about what’s lost
Brag about my heroes
So much that I imitate
‘Cause now I’m realizing
I was born too late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until you recognize
That all you ever did for me was judge and criticize
Kept me always waiting
Standing outside the gate
Sent a letter to me
All it said was, Born too late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until I find the time
To heal the shame and guilt that conquers my mind
I caught myself dreaming
In a world that’s wide awake
But all I can remember
Is that I was born too late

I can’t be satisfied, boys, until I shed my skin
Crawl through every shadow that ends where it begins
Then rest upon your shoulder
And gently whisper not to wait
But all the while you’re thinking
I must’ve been born too late

Lyrics/Poem by Ryan Hughes


Leave a comment